Independence from Alchemy Publishers

Dating, Diapers and Denial – my first book, and one so special came out in 2011. The next year, in 2012, Nuptial Knots was out. And, in 2013, That Autumn in Awadh.

I had begun my journey as a writer. With Alchemy Publishers. A HEARTBREAKING JOURNEY.

Over the three years, the books gave me some beautiful moments. I got emails from readers, messages from friends of friends telling me how much they loved the books and from complete strangers, as well. I was ecstatic!  Dating, Diapers and Denial remained on the Bestsellers Stand in Reliance Time Out in Phoenix Mall, Bangalore for an entire year! We would visit that shop often and pose for photos against that section. Friends would send photos of the book on Bestseller Stands from other cities as well. The reviews were superlative.

14308_4918583922909_1284341005_n

“Author Rachna Singh’s wit is so sharp, it pokes at your funny bone hard.”The Hindu

“A sure-fire mood-lifter….a laugh riot.” Femina

“Immensely Funny” DNA

I got mails from readers from faraway countries too. Friends would tease me, good-naturedly,

‘You must be minting money now, Ms Writer!’

The truth is I have not been paid royalty.

By 2013, Alchemy Publishers had run some digital media campaigns to promote the books. But, largely, they were facing issues in placing the books in stores. Most of my meetings with them were them expressing their problems around distribution. They sounded like they were struggling.

248669_10200381405038200_87337287_n

For my 4th book, I moved on and associated with a different publisher. Alchemy expressed their unhappiness over it.

It is 2017 now. Six years from when my first book came out. Alchemy Publishers has not paid me royalty or even disclosed sales figures. Except some 3000/- bucks right in the beginning.

I have reminded. Pleaded. Even begged. My emails went unanswered. I have no communication from them. I see the books being sold at Literature Fairs, Festivals. But, I have no updates on how many.

544394_4419539087100_1687643768_n

There is nothing more that I can do. Even if I get them to respond, they are most likely to say,

‘The books hardly sold.’

I cannot tell how heartbreaking it is. To put in so much, to put in your best, and receive nothing. Well, I should not be saying ‘nothing’ – the love of the readers has been, and continues to be overwhelming.

10603340_10204496623396087_5642735430691381597_n

This Independence Day, I pledge to give myself independence from this siege. No more emails, no more follow-ups, no more tears.

I want to move on. With complete forgiveness. With the love of my readers, I hope to forget this unpleasant journey soon.

I want to God to abundantly bless C.K. Mehra, S.K. Mehra, Krishna Mehra, Sona Agarwal and Shivangi Mehra Jain.

Published by rachnasinghbooks

Funny, sensitive, and ingenious, Rachna’s writing and unadorned, but replete with metaphors and images that grasp the reader’s attention. She writes in the areas of humour, love, and organizational development. Her readers and media reviews hail her as the ‘Emerging Queen of Humour on the Indian Bookshelf’

2 thoughts on “Independence from Alchemy Publishers

  1. Sad you had to go through this. Glad you named and shamed them. I still recall asking you to share your publisher experience when your first book was published. Wish it was not what it turned out to be.

  2. It is sad to know that you had such a bad experience. However I admire that you telling them off with such elegance, and freeing yourself of any more expectations. I do hope they see the error in their ways, and make amends.

Leave a comment